Image: Right - Ordinances of Major-General Andrew Jackson, Governor of the Provinces of the Floridas, Exercising the Powers of the Captain-General, and of the Intendant of the Island of Cuba, Over the Said Provinces, And the Governors of said Provinces respectively
(Originally printed by Richard W. Edes, St. Augustine 1821. Reprinted in 1941. Copy available at the St. Augustine Historical Society)
Above- Excerpt from the Acts of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida, Passed at their First Session.
(State Library and Archives of Florida. 1822. Digital copy available:
1821 Ordinances

On July 21, 1821, then-provisional Governor Jackson issued an ordinance establishing the American form of government in Florida known as the "county." The ordinance established a County judicial system and provided for the appointment of County judges, clerks and sheriffs.
In 1822, the provisional government was replaced by a territorial council, which consisted of the Governor and 13 presidential appointees. The Territorial Council reaffirmed many of Jackson's 1821 Ordinances under the Acts of the Legislative Council.
That same year, the two existing counties, Escambia and St. Johns, were further divided into Escambia, Jackson, Duval, and St. Johns Counties. Duval was carved out of the boundaries of St. Johns County.